The government should never be able to enter your home unannounced. Breonna’s Law would ban law enforcement from using no-knock warrants statewide.

Ask your lawmakers to support Breonna's Law

Breonna Taylor was a 26-year-old Black woman who was fatally shot during a “no-knock” raid in Louisville, KY, on March 13, 2020.

That night, a group of officers entered Breonna Taylor’s home, which she shared with her partner, Kenneth Walker. Walker did not hear police make an announcement and presumed they were intruders. Fearing for his life, Walker fired one warning shot, purposefully aiming low. Police returned fire. They hit Breonna Taylor 8 times, firing a total of 32 bullets in her apartment. Some of the bullets went through walls and entered neighboring apartments.

What's in Breonna's Law?

  • Complete ban on no-knock warrants, except cases with exigent circumstances.
  • Require more detailed information to be gathered in the warrant process, such as who is in the house (i.e. elderly persons, children, persons with a physical or mental disability).
  • Require officers to wear clothing that identifies them as police and announce themselves before entering.
  • Police officers should face consequences if they enter a home without following the proper process. Police Officers should also be tested for the presence of drugs and alcohol after an officer involved shooting.  

Broad support for Breonna's Law:

Louisville unanimously passed Breonna’s Law in 2020, and seven other cities towns have since joined, including Glasgow. Lexington's mayor has implemented a moratorium indefinitely. It’s time to protect all Kentuckians and adopt a statewide ban. The law has also passed in states including Tennessee, Pennsylvania, and Virginia.

State Senator John Schickel, a former law enforcement officer, agrees: no-knock warrants are outdated and should be banned. Sen. Schickel says they don’t have a place in modern law enforcement as a matter of safety for officers and those in the house.

Bill Movement:

  • Pre-filed: 8/13/20
  • Introduced: 1/5/21
  • Passed House Committee: N/A
  • Passed House: N/A
  • Accepted by Senate: N/A
  • Passed Senate Committee: N/A
  • Passed Senate: N/A
  • Sent to Governor: N/A


A. Scott, G. Brown Jr., T. Burch, K. Flood, J. Jenkins, N. Kulkarni, M. Marzian, R. Meeks, P. Minter, J. Raymond, R. Roberts, S. Westrom, B. Wheatley, L. Willner




2021 General Assembly

Bill number